“Train Song” by Feist and Ben Gibbard

The National is an amazing Brooklyn rock band consisting of two pairs of brothers and one outcast. Just kidding. You can’t be the outcast when you write and sing the songs.

Aaron and Bryce Dessner of The National have produced an amazing collaborative compilation entitled, Dark Was The Night. It’s a benefit to the Red Hot Organization and its effort to raise funds for HIV and AIDS. A new song, of the 32 total tracks, is streamed everyday from the Dark Was The Night myspace page. Featured yesterday on NPR was the the lovely cover of Vashti Bunyan’s “Train Song,” performed by Feist and Death Cab for Cutie’s Ben Gibbard. Visit the sight to see the rest of the wonderful lineup including Bon Iver, The Decemberists, Iron & Wine, the return of Sufjan Stevens, and so much more.

Train Song

Listen Here: “Train Song”
Ben Gibbard & Feist - Dark Was the Night - Train Song

“The Sound” by Paper Route

Paper Route is composed of Howat (bass, piano, programming), J.T. Daly (vocals, keyboards, percussion), Andy Smith (vocals, guitars, harmonica), and Gavin McDonald (drums). In my opinion, having toured with Phantom Planet and Passion Pit is what put them on the map. This song comes from their Thrill of Hope – EP released December 28, 2008. These Nashville guys also have a new album coming out next Tuesday, April 28, 2009 called Absence.

Paper Route
Paper Route - Thrill of Hope - EP - The Sound

“She Loves Everybody” by Chester French

The album is out today! Chester French say that their sound is heavily influence by classic British soul. David-Andrew Wallach and Maxwell Drummey met as college freshmen in 2003. The duo juggled a start-up band and a Harvard education at the same time and succeeded at both graduating and releasing a sucessful debut titled, Love the Future. This is the first single, “She Loves Everybody.”

“Funny The Way It Is” by DMB

Dave has begun his Spring 2009 Tour and this time around he has a new album to share. Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux King is the seventh studio album by DMB and is scheduled to release on June 2, 2009. “Funny The Way It Is” is available free for download on Dave’s official site.

“Actor Out Of Work” by St. Vincent

It’s been nearly 2 years since St. Vincent’s last release, Marry Me. I am pleased to inform you that the wait is almost over. Annie will release her new album, Actor, on May 5, 2009. If you want to stream it two weeks before the release, NPR’s ‘First Listen’ series will air the entire album on April 20th at 11pm. Here’s the first single, “Actor Out Of Work.”

“Story Of A Thousand Seasons Past” by The Rentals

The Rentals

Former Weezer member, Matt Sharp, and his band The Rentals have launched their album Songs About Time. It is the first of three planned mini-albums. Enjoy the piano ballad “Story Of A Thousand Seasons Past.”