“Pieces”, “Not Enough” and “Beautiful Things” by Rabid Young

Las Vegas-based rockers Rabid Young premiered their first single, as a prelude to their debut EP, on PopMatters who noted the bands “grandiose synth pop holds nothing back on its cinematic groove.” Check out the PopMatters Premiere. “Not Enough” is off the bands forthcoming, EP 1, which was released on October 2.

Next, their single “Beautiful Things” premiered on A Music Blog, Yea? who branded the single an “infectious electro-pop tune.”

In addition, the band premiered their video for “Pieces” on MySpace. Seriously? Does MySpace still exist?

Have a listen to more of Rabid Young via SoundCloud.

In 2014, Las Vegas musician Eric Rickey (lead vocals, guitar and keys) found himself at the end of a well-traveled road wondering where to go next. That year Rickey’s previous band, Most Thieves, had opened for the Killers through Europe and Canada, playing arenas and getting a taste of international success. Back in Vegas, Rickey joined up with friend and fellow musician Jackson Wilcox (bass) and the two began plotting their new endeavor with fellow Most Thieves alum Bobby Lee Parker (guitar), as well as Matthew Long (drummer for Roky Erickson) and Alex Stopa (Drums). Later, Megan Wingerter (keys) and Mason Bundschuh (guitar) joined the group.

With Rickey’s studio, Electric Animal, at their disposal, the group began experimenting with instrument layering; cutting layers into snippets and looping them into ambient hooks, essentially sampling themselves.

“Pieces” by Rabid Young

“Not Enough” by Rabid Young

“Beautiful Things” by Rabid Young

Rabid Young

Image and .mp3 courtesy of Jennifer Thorington & Samuel Markus of Working Brilliantly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *